Voivod New Album Infini Info

By Elric on 5:39 PM 13 April 2009

Filed Under:

Canadian metal legends Voivod have set set "Infini" as the title of their final album, due in North America in early July via Relapse Records and Germany on June 12 through Nuclear Blast (the rest of Europe is expected to receive the CD on June 15).

Regarding the album title, Voivod drummer Michel "Away" Langevin said, "There were many titles thrown around, but I thought of 'Infini' and everybody liked it. Also, it looks great in sci-fi fonts."

The track listing for the CD is as follows:

01. God Phones
02. From The Cave
03. Earthache
04. Global Warning
05. A Room With A V.U.
06. Destroy After Reading
07. Treasure Chase
08. Krap Radio
09. In Orbit
10. Deathproof
11. Pyramidome
12. Morpheus
13. Volcano

Total running time: 57:57

The follow-up to 2006's "Katorz" will mark the second album in the band's 20-plus-year career that did not feature founding guitarist Denis "Piggy" D'Amour working alongside his bandmembers in the studio.

Former Metallica bassist Jason Newsted is still very much part of the Voivod family and he did lay down all the bass tracks on the new record. However, he is unable to perform live at this point.

Voivod won the "Best Metal/Hardcore Album" award for "Katorz" in September 2007 at the annual Quebec Independent Music Awards (GAMIQ) in Montreal, Quebec.

0 comments for this post

Post a Comment

Scream For Me