The Gathering New Songs Availiable For Streaming

By Elric on 3:16 PM 14 April 2009

Filed Under: ,

Dutch rock outfit The Gathering has confirmed a couple of "try-out" gigs prior to the start of the festival season in June. The group's schedule is shaping up as follows:

Jun. 19 - De Nieuwe Nor - Heerlen, NETH
Jun. 20 - P3 - Purmerend, NETH
Jun. 26 - Graspop Metal Meeting - Dessel, BEL
Jul. 17 - Amphi Festival - Cologne, GER
Aug. 01 - Sazavafest - (near Prague) , CZR
Aug. 07 - Alliance Fest - Aveiro, POR

The fourth new track from The Gathering, entitled "No Bird Call", is available for streaming on the band's official webshop. The track comes off the The Gathering's long-awaited new album, "The West Pole", which is scheduled for release in North America on June 2 via Season of Mist. The CD will be issued in most of Europe on May 4 via the band's own label, Psychonaut Records. More information is available here.

"The West Pole" will mark the recording debut of The Gathering's new singer, Silje Wergeland from the Norwegian band Octavia Sperati. Drummer Hans Rutten says, "Silje has been the singer of Octavia Sperati for eight years, including several other projects. She did a superb job. This album also includes two very talented guest singers: the Dutch Anne van den Hoogen and Mexican Marcela Bovio (from Stream Of Passion), and some other guest musicians."

Hans continued, "What can we say about 'The West Pole'? It's a very vital, atmospheric and extravert rock orientated album, with all the quality and power The Gathering is so famous for, also with many new elements. The sound is guitar driven, alive and urgent; a strong and beautifully coloured album with haunting female vocals. It's produced by guitar player Rene Rutten and mixed and mastered by Zlaya Hadzich (who also did the production of 'Souvenirs') and Rene."

"The West Pole" track listing:

01. When Trust Becomes Sound
02. Treasure
03. All You Are
04. You Promised Me A Symphony
05. The West Pole
06. Capital Of Nowhere
07. No Bird Call
08. Pale Traces
09. No One Spoke
10. Constant Run

The songs "All You Are", "Treasure" and "The West Pole" are available for streaming on The Gathering's MySpace page.

1 comments for this post

My idea or it sounds a little like Nighttime Birds

Posted on 14/4/09 19:27  

Post a Comment

Scream For Me