Voivod - Katorz (2006)

By Elric on 11:55 AM 07 November 2006

Filed Under:

"Katorz" is the fourteenth album by the Canadian Heavy Metal band Voivod. The name of the album is phonetic for "quatorze", the French word for fourteen.

First of all, after 22 years Voivod released an album with an almost perfect production, in contrast with the previous 13 albums!!!. The music is Stoner Rock with realy heavy riffs and a dark atmosphere that will occlude your lungs.

The album is solid with equal songs but I believe that it is somehow half complete. The songs could have been worked more.

Probably this is because during the recording of this album, guitarist Denis D'Amour (aka Piggy) died on August 25, 2005 due to colon cancer. The album features tracks previously recorded by him and stored in his computer hard disk.

Rating: 75/100

The Band

  • Denis Belanger - vocals
  • Jason Newsted - bass
  • Michel Langevin - drums

  1. The Getaway
  2. Dognation
  3. Mr Clean
  4. After All
  5. Odds & Frauds
  6. Red My Mind
  7. Silly Clones
  8. No Angel
  9. The X-Stream
  10. Polaroids

0 comments for this post

Post a Comment

Scream For Me