Steve Conte of New York Dolls To Release New Album

By Elric on 10:43 PM 21 October 2009

Filed Under:

To rock and rollers around the globe, the legendary Steve Conte is probably best known as the lead guitarist, songwriter/and backing vocalist in the New York Dolls. Conte is also the lead singer, songwriter and guitarist for a raft of other bands including Crown Jewels, The Contes, and his latest incarnation - Steve Conte & The Crazy Truth.

Sonically, The Crazy Truth lies somewhere between garage rock and punk blues with hints of Latin-soul in a dark, smoky lounge. It's the Stooges and the Stones versus Morphine and Tom Waits. The vibe is best described by Conte as "classic roots with a modern twist."

Lyrically, the songs reflect two decades of life and excess in New York City...the distractions troubled souls move toward to fill the emptiness. Dive bars, gambling, sex and drugs. It's all there, but not celebrated with the traditional macho rock attitude. It's more about redemption.

On The Truth Ain't Pretty, Conte sings, "I'm always putting the last things first, that's why I'm starting out with the second verse," while on The Goods Are Odd he croons "Drag queens, drama queens, future ex-porn stars, we're all looking for lovers with beautiful scars."

Special guests on the album includes David Johansen (New York Dolls) on harmonica, Catherine Russell (David Bowie) and Nicki Richards (Madonna) on backing vocals, plus Danny Ray (Sylvain Sylvain/Johnny Thunders), Kiku Collins (Beyonce) Tom Timko (Stevie Wonder) on horns.

The album was mixed by the legendary Niko Bolas (Neil Young, Keith Richards) and mastered by Richard Dodd (Tom Petty, Green Day).

1. This Is The End
2. Gypsy Cab
3. Texas T
4. The Goods Are Odd
5. Get Off
6. The Truth Ain't Pretty
7. Her Highness
8. Busload of Hope
9. Strumpet-hearted Monkey Girl
10. Indie Girl
11. Junk Planet

0 comments for this post

Post a Comment

Scream For Me