Madball Studio Report

By Elric on 10:12 AM 19 June 2007

Filed Under:

New York City hardcore legends Madball will release their new album, "Infiltrate the System", on August 21 in the U.S. on Ferret Music (in Europe on I Scream, in South America on Liberation, in Australia on Resist).

"Infiltrate the System" track listing:

01. Justify
02. Infiltrate the System
03. Revolt
04. No Escape
05. Takeover
06. Renegades
07. Set Me Free
08. The Messenger
09. Liberty or Death
10. A Novelty
11. You're Gone
12. P.Y.I.T.F. Part 3
13. Stand Up NY

Speaking from Planet Z studios in Massachusetts, where the band recorded the CD with producer Zeuss (Hatebreed, Shadows Fall, Throwdown), Madball frontman Freddy Cricien recently said about the new material, "The album will lyrically keep some of the hardcore standards while branching out from any of their previous work. We are hoping to branch out conceptually with 'Infiltrate'. We do have a few songs written about themes that are familiar to our fans, such as life on the streets, but we also have some songs that delve more into social commentary. By no means are we a political band now, we're still giving you first hand accounts of our life but there is other topics we want to talk about such as self-empowerment which everyone can relate to. Kids from the hardcore scene are infiltrating the system everyday and making changes to old ways of thinking, we have fans whom grew up with our band and are in all walks of life including CEOs of companies, politicians, teachers and more."

Musically, Circien says that the songs will contain some surprises. "For the first time ever, we have songs that are over three minutes, a record for Madball," he said. "We are going to have Hoya (bass) and Mitts (guitar) sing as well, because I discovered that Mitts has an excellent voice. This record is also going to be a lot heavier, so if kids don't want to dance to this, I don't know what they will want to dance to!"

"Infiltrate the System" is the follow up to 2005's "Legacy", a critically acclaimed album that received feature coverage in Revolver, Decibel, and Metal Maniacs.

Formed when Cricien was in his early teens, Madball has been one of the driving forces of hardcore in recent years delivering anthemic, touchstone albums such as "Demonstrate My Style" (1996) and "Set It Off" (1994).

You can watch their videoclip "100%" from the last ablum "Legacy", here.

0 comments for this post

Post a Comment

Scream For Me