Twisted Sister The Video Years

By Elric on 1:32 AM 12 May 2007

Filed Under:

Big hair, big hits and even bigger riffs — the era of big metal returns as Rhino presents the DVD debut of hard-to-find and out-of-print video collections from one of the biggest-selling bands of the '80s: Twisted Sister. The DVD offers a clear digital picture along with Dolby Digital 5.1 Surround Sound mixes that capture the band at the height of their popularity. Twisted Sister's "The Video Years" will be available from Rhino on June 26 at all retail outlets and at

"2006 marked the 30th anniversary and 9000th live performance of Twisted Sister," says Twisted Sister guitarist Jay Jay French. "In reaching this historic milestone, it is only fitting that this DVD, encompassing some of the most legendary videos ever made, finally will be commercially available. This intense renewed interest in Twisted Sister comes at a time when the band is performing to its greatest audiences around the world, proving once and for all that not only did the band help create the MTV era, its shows have become the stuff of legend."

Twisted Sister — singer Dee Snider, guitarists Jay Jay French and Eddie "Fingers" Ojeda, bassist Mark Mendoza and drummer A.J. Pero — took the country by storm in 1984 thanks to the band's breakthrough album, "Stay Hungry" and its follow-up "Come Out And Play". The band's music videos including the hit "We're Not Gonna Take It", their first television performance and a legendary 1984 concert performance "Stay Hungry" have been combined into a single DVD entitled "The Video Years". The DVD also includes new interviews with the band, actor Mark Metcalf who played the father and teacher in "We're Not Gonna Take It" and "I Wanna Rock" respectively, Lemmy Kilminster and much more.

DVD track listings:

"The Video Years":

01. It's Only Rock 'N' Roll (But I Like It)*
02. You Can't Stop Rock 'N' Roll
03. We're Not Gonna Take It
04. I Wanna Rock
05. The Price
06. Leader Of The Pack
07. Be Chrool To Your Scuel
08. Hot Love

"Stay Hungry":

01. The Kids Are Back
02. We're Not Gonna Take It
03. I Wanna Rock
04. Under The Blade
05. The Beast
06. You Can't Stop Rock 'N' Roll
07. The Price
08. Stay Hungry
09. Burn In Hell
10. S. M. F

DVD Extras include video commentaries for each of their videos with all five band members and Mark Metcalf.

*Twisted Sister's first-ever television performance in 1982.

0 comments for this post

Post a Comment

Scream For Me