Opeth - Porcelain Heart - Video

By Elric on 10:26 PM 23 April 2008

Filed Under:

Sweden's Opeth recently filmed a promotional video for an edit of the song "Porcelain Heart". The clip was directed by Lasse Hoile (Porcupine Tree) and shot in Vaxholm, Sweden at the marvellous Bogesund castle, built in the 1640s. The edit was done by Jens Bogren and Opeth mainman Mikael Akerfeldt.

Commented Mikael: "I think the video came out great! The location and the castle was beyond gorgeous, even though it was cold and empty in there and... yeah, a little scary too. Lasse and his team as well as the actors did a great job! The clip is very gothic-looking which I think is the perfect imagery for the song and for Opeth overall, I suppose. I really enjoyed filming that one actually!"

The cover was (as usual) designed by Travis Smith in co-operation with frontman/guitarist Mikael Akerfeldt.

"Watershed" is scheduled for release on June 3 via Roadrunner Records (one day earlier internationally). The CD, recorded in the band's native Sweden and produced by frontman/guitarist Mikael Akerfeldt and Jens Bogren, is a masterwork that follows the time-honored Opeth tradition; its modern yet timeless, progressive yet paying homage to the sounds of classic rock.

"Watershed" track listing:

01. Coil
02. Heir Apparent
03. The Lotus Eater
04. Burden
05. Porcelain Heart
06. Hessian Peel
07. Hex Omega

All the songs were written by Akerfeldt apart from "Porcelain Heart", which was co-written with new guitarist Fredrik Akesson. One additonal track, "Derelict Herds", was also recorded and this was written by Mikael Akerfeldt and Per Wiberg. On top of this, three cover songs were recorded. "Bridge of Sighs" from Robin Troer's 1974 LP of the same title, "Den Standiga Resan" (sung in Swedish) by Marie Fredriksson as well as the classic Alice In Chains song "Would?"

The album was recorded at Fascination Street studios between November 1 and December 13, 2007. Some additional recording was done between January 3 and January 7.

1 comments for this post


Artist: Opeth
Album: Watershed [Special Edition]
Year: 2008
Genre: Progressive Death metal
Country: Sweden
Format: mp3@CBR192kbps
Size: 105MB

Track listing:
1. "Coil" - 3:07
2. "Heir Apparent" - 8:51
3. "The Lotus Eater" - 8:51
4. "Burden" - 7:42
5. "Porcelain Heart" - 8:01
6. "Hessian Peel" - 11:26
7. "Hex Omega" - 6:59
8. "Derelict Herds" (Åkerfeldt, Wiberg) - 6:28
9. "Bridge of Sighs" (Robin Trower cover) – 5:55
10. "Den Ständiga Resan" (Marie Fredriksson cover) – 4:09
11. "Mellotron Heart" - 5:28

Total playing time: 1:16:55


Posted on 4/6/08 00:11  

Post a Comment

Scream For Me