Ministry To Rest In Peace

By Elric on 11:38 PM 11 July 2007

Filed Under:

The last-ever Ministry studio album, "The Last Sucker", will be released on September 18 (13th Planet/Megaforce) followed by a world tour in 2008. Jourgensen has decided to lay Ministry to rest and focus on 13th Planet Records.

On his own words:

"I've got a lot of side-projects and new projects I want to focus on.We have our our own label, 13th Planet Records, we're building, and I want to sign, produce and collaborate with other artists. Being in the studio writing, recording and collaborating is my favorite part of this snake-oil industry. I'd rather be behind the console than behind the mic. Plus, I kinda like the synchronicity of Dubya and Ministry riding off into the sunset hand in hand."

"The Last Sucker" is once again "dedicated" to George W. Bush administration.


"The Last Sucker is the final nail in the Dubya coffin. My engineer and I were hunched over a computer for nights on end listening to this fucking idiot until our minds were numb.I mean, I'm absolutely stupider for listening to his drivel for such concentrated periods of time, but I viewed including these sound bites as a necessary evil."

The new album also features a cover of The Doors' "Roadhouse Blues", and the album's dual closers, "The End of Days" (Parts One and Two) captures every single element of Ministry's contribution to industrial music.

"The Last Sucker" -which was produced and recorded this past spring by Jourgensen at his 13th Planet compound just outside of El Paso, TX - sees the return of Thomas Victor (Prong) on guitars, Paul Raven (Killing Joke, Prong) on bass, with newcomer guitarist Sin Quirin from The Revolitng Cocks 2006 touring line-up. Jourgensen and his engineer John "Bixby" Bilberry handled all the drum programming. In addition, Burton C. Bell from Fear Factory makes a vocal appearance on "Die In A Crash", as well as the album's final two songs, "End of Days" parts One and Two.

"The Last Sucker" track listing:

01. Let's Go
02. Watch Yourself
03. Life Is Good
04. The Dick Song
05. The Last Sucker
06. No Glory
07. Death and Destruction
08. Roadhouse Blues
09. Die In A Crash
10. End of Days Part One
11. End of Days Part Two

0 comments for this post

Post a Comment

Scream For Me